A hummingbird has been at the feeder,
last night and this morning.
I’m not sure if it’s the summer resident
or a traveler making the trip south for the winter.
Important for weather prediction,
but in either case,
I’m glad to see it.

I’ve spotted two different raccoon families
on the roads in early evening.
Three and four raccoons,
memorable because
they are huge –
larger than any I’ve seen before.

Yesterday,
I watched a moth and a fly
attack each other.
Really.
The moth came near the fly,
the fly would move toward the moth,
the moth flitting away
then approaching again
until the fly
landed on the moth
and there was a lot of fluttering
until the fly got off the moth
and settled back onto the windowsill.
Moth moved on.

I watched the young calico cat
discover a small flock of Blue Jays
in the arborvitae this morning.
Born here this summer,
Callie hadn’t seen a Blue Jay before,
as they only winter here.
There are birds in the arborvitae
all the time,
but I’ve never seen her climb
up the branches after them.
She went up after a Blue Jay
completely unaware that,
though bigger,
if she were to tangle with a Blue Jay
she would get the rough end of the encounter.
Isn’t that interesting?
That she would be so interested
in the bird that is most likely
to turn on her,
peck her
and make her life miserable?
Fortunately for her,
the Blue Jays weren’t interested.
I suspect because they’re just passing through
and not taking up residence
at the moment.

I also watched two Angus (black) cows,
fully grown,
standing head-to-head,
one licking the other.
Never seen that before.
Was the one doing the grooming
the Mama of the other
or not?

Last evening,
I saw four pair of doves,
together on the high-line wire.

Missing still: red-tail hawks.
This is perplexing
and disturbing.

Turkey vultures though,
their wings spread,
fly lazily,
beautifully,
overhead
these scrumptious
autumn days.