Sunday evening
after sun disappeared
the beauty of the colors in the clouds
were deeply felt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The breeze was soft
as darkness came
and I went in the house.
Shortly,
a friend on the phone:
“You are looking
at the moon, aren’t you?”
I dashed out
as if the house
were on fire.
A full
orange moon
crested the horizon,
striped
and glowing
behind inky blue clouds.
I sat in the soft breeze
and watched
it appear
and re-appear
until it was well above the clouds,
still glowing orange.
What an entrance!

Monday,
January 28,
the temperature reached 76.
It was windy.
At moonrise,
the moon was hidden
behind dense clouds
and climbed high in the sky
before I could see its
white glow.
There was soft, silent
lightning
on the horizon.
I opened a bedroom window.

6:15 a.m.,
Tuesday, Jan. 29,
a thunderstorm.
Rain, thunder, hail, wind,
rain.
I had to close the bedroom window,
but opened the front door
and listened.
By 7:30,
we had over two inches
of rain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It has been months
since this much rain has fallen
at once—
or since we’ve had rain
at all.
It’s still sprinkling
and I hear thunder
again.
There is dripping.
Birds are splashing
in puddles.
It’s the real thing:
a rainy morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Snow is predicted
tonight.