During an evening walk
I have to keep my mind clear,
my eyes scanning
the landscape
or I’d miss
the Great Blue Heron
fishing
silently.

DSCN4684

Stepping onto the front porch
in the golden hour,
I have to be going out
to look,
or I’d miss the three Cottontails
seemingly in a stand-down.
It’s a wonder I didn’t scare them off
when I let the screen door
slam.

DSCN4679

Sitting
facing east
I am watching
for Super Moon Rise.
There is a bank of clouds
along the horizon,
so it is late
showing.
Instead, I am surprised
by two flocks of white cranes
flying overhead,
silently,
on their way
to roost for the night in the Cypress trees
on the islands in the Big Pond.
They glow against the
blue and pink sky.

DSCN4744
I stand up to check on the colors
developing in the western sky
and when I turn back East
there is moon.
Turns out,
I had positioned myself
so that a tree blocked my view
and Super Moon rises
above the clouds
silently,
unnoticed.

DSCN4746

And we thought
we were the center
of the universe.