DSCN6647

A walk down the road
during the golden hour,
my eyes focused on the western
horizon, I watched Earth roll up,
sun disappear,
the clouds above sky turn gold
and orange.

DSCN6646
DSCN6652

Neighbors stopped
to chat as they drove by, warning
that my walk home
would be chilly. The day had been
on the verge of warm. The wind
still,
all day.
And all day,
winter sunshine.

DSCN6656
DSCN6657

DSCN6658

I turned towards home then
and the clouds turned from orange
to pink,
pinker still. A bank of clouds
stretched across the northern sky
and everything,
even the brawny grass
took on a tinge of pink.

DSCN6653
DSCN6659
Then the pink drained away
and clouds turned gray.

How could I have missed it?
Me, out there awash
in the sky, the light…
Already
high in the sky,
waning,
moon.
Tickled me pink.

DSCN6662